Personal birthing experience 

I am at my second class at Walden University early childhood class number 6160 Dash two. This week we are talking about our personal birthing experience. My personal birthing experience is quite horrible considering I live in United States. Part of that was the culture of my home life. My pregnancy was rough I got dehydrated a lot. I became diabetic my eyes started to go bad and I need to glasses. I was under a lot of stress. I was working long hours in a hot factory. My husband was less than kind. He thought that cravings or a sign of a weak mind so he would buy the things that I like to eat but then refused to let me have them until he decided I could have it by then I was usually near tears and completely frustrated. My mom had never been a baby person. And had no interest in my prenatal experience. I didn’t have any friends at that time. And so I was off and sad and miserable before my child came. Even my hospital experience was horrible. For some reason they thought I was on public aid and they never mentioned to me that I should be home. So I ended up working till almost the end. I have been sick and I was being seen by a nurse and she told me I had to be sitting down and resting and not walking. I explained to her I work 10 hours a day in a factory on my feet. She said that I should have been home on bedrest somewhere along the six months of my pregnancy. That I was very lucky that I Lost my baby at almost 8 1/2 months pregnant. She immediately had me stay home. A few days later I was going in for a test and they told me my baby was going to come today and they had to induce labor. They took me to the hospital and they put me in the labor room. They broke my water sack and they induced labor but they also gave me another IV for the high blood pressure. I had an IV in each arm not very comfortable. Somewhere in the middle of the night they stop the medicine to induce the labor and had told my husband who had made it to the hospital that it would be a few more hours. So we sat laid in the labor room. I felt something between my legs and it hurt. After some convincing my husband went to get somebody and it turned out it was the babies head. I am mediately had to have the baby there in the labor room. They took the baby I never got to hold her there was no skin to skin contact and they took her out of the room and my husband followed. I woke up sometime the next day to a nurse telling me that no one had cleaned me up in the sheet was stuck to my body. I guess after I had the baby they just forgot about me. I kept asking to see my baby and they kept telling me there was no room but they wouldn’t bring her down as to where I was. I didn’t get to see her till about 4 o’clock in the afternoon. By then I was in high anxiety thinking that she had died and nobody wanted to tell. I was in the room where I had delivered her until 4 PM but a bad became available in the maternity ward. I had no visitors other than the occasional nurse who came in to check on me. I just remember crying and freaking out constantly. She wanted me to watch TV I guess to distract me. And I just wanted to know where my baby was. I finally got to see her and we had a difficult time getting her to nurse. Part of that was is that I still had IVs attached and nobody would bring me water. I would push the button and ask and wait, and wait and wait. I still had to get IVs my whole time there because of high blood pressure. Somewhere on the second day I had to go to the bathroom and nobody was coming. I tried to take myself to the bathroom and end up ripping the IV out of my arm. That just made the nurses mad at me. I made it even harder for them to respond when I called for some help. After that they fixed me up and handed me my baby. I called them back to tell them I am hurt.  They never came to the room they just told me over the little intercom that I needed to learn how to hold a baby. And I needed to get used to that. When they finally came to move the baby the needle somehow had moved out from the vein and was under the skin and had blown up and caused a big bubble on my arm. Which was probably where the pain was coming from not the fact that I couldn’t hold a baby. They sent me home on the third day but I had to go home with an IV shunt in my wrist. My husband pick me up took me home handed me the baby and left. I had no idea what to do because he didn’t want to go to any of the pre-birthing classes. And I didn’t grow up surrounded by little kids or infants. I called my mom and dad and asked if they could come over because I didn’t know what to do because I had a needle still hanging in my arm. They came over they changed her and made sure I ate but they didn’t stay. They figured I had the baby I needed to learn how to take care of it. I don’t remember much at all about her being little. I guess that was my postpartum depression. I remember laying on the floor sleeping, and crying. My daughter is now 26. I am lucky that with all the stress that was going on in my body that she has turned out pretty well-adjusted. Though she does have high anxiety. I’m not sure if that’s the result of her prenatal time or just the general result of our life. In the years since she was a baby her father is gone. And my family has passed away. I told her she ever has a child I was going to be sticking so close to her. I would never want anyone to go to the experience that I had gone through. It was 26 years ago and I put it all behind me and have moved on. I have learned a lot. And if I have friends that are pregnant I fuss over them. I worry about them and I pray for them. And I try to be helpful.

Our text says to compare this with another countries birthing experience. Which I will further down in this article. I will compare it to the couple that was highlighted in the PBS nova special that we had to watch for this class. The husband and the video was so kind and supportive of his wife. She had regular prenatal care and in the delivery room there is pictures of either of her parents or his parents joining them.

I think Finland is an interesting place if you had to give birth to a baby. The government gives you a maternity starter kit filled with clothes, sheets, toys and a mattress that can be kept in the box and used as a bassinet. I guess it would be that everyone gets equal start in life. They also have the worlds lowest mortality rates( Save the Children)The loop parenting

According to the Huff Post Finland is one of the best places to have a child because they have had prenatal care and educational rights for women and children as part of their agenda all the way back to the 1920s. Maternity and child Health clinics are free. Their system that has been in place has dropped their motel of the right. Over 99% of their mothers go for prenatal check ups. According to our textbook Berger,Kathleen  states prenatal check ups are very important to the development of the baby. At their health clinics in Finland there is continued support for babies children and their families and they do 15 check ups before they reach school-age.. They also have a very low teenage pregnancy rate which they bass back on the fact that starting in the 1970s they had comprehensive sexual education.How Finland puts mom’s first

Sources 

Berger, Kathleen 2016 The Debeloping Perao. Through Childhood New York NY

Kibisilta-Markkula Hanna How Finland puts mom first HuffPost 07-08-2013

Web Video: PBS NOVA life’s greatest miracle

PBS nova

Wilford,Denette It’s a lot better to give birth in Canada and the US. The Loop May 5, 2017

Celebrating my 50th birthday at my 1950’s party. My daughter and I.

One thought on “Personal birthing experience 

  1. Never, should any one, ever, have to go through what you did! I know it was 26 years ago and you left it behind you, but I am so sorry about your experience. Hopefully, if/when your daughter has a child, she is well cared for and have a wonderful experience.
    I also believe Finland is a country that allows the father to also take a paternity leave just as long as a mother is allowed. Finland has an education department run by retired education-related field employees. It seems Finland is getting it right with children!

    Like

Leave a Reply

